Sequencing and Chakras! – 2/6 roxane

Gosh…. So we just got our teaching schedule and exam schedule yesterday and everything is getting so real!!!! What I’ve been envisioning previously, about teaching a whole hour of class and to people I know and people I don’t, is happening so soon. A part of me feels excited, and the other part feels scared. What if I say really weird stuff, or what if I don’t make sense at all. *faints*

Despite freaking out about teaching a class, I actually really love planning the sequences! So fun making poses flow together, and drawing inspirations from snippets here and there. We had a class on Chakras just last week and I’ve learned that many teachers usually plan a class based on focusing on a Chakra, or flowing through all the Chakras.

Basically, there are 7 main Chakras located within our spine, and every asana activates one or more Chakras.
1. Muladhara (Root Chakra)
– Standing postures
2. Svadisthana (Sacral Chakra)
– Hip opening postures
3. Manipura (Navel Chakra)
– Core/Twisting postures
4. Anahata (Heart Chakra)
– Heart opening postures
5. Vishuddha (Throat Chakra)
– Postures focusing on throat and neck
6. Anja (Third-Eye Chakra)
– Balancing postures and inversions
7. Sahasrara (Crown Chakra)
– Balancing postures and inversions

In addition to asanas, different sounds also help to activate specific Chakras. I find that so interesting because the vibration from chanting the specific sound targets the area in our body and you feel it so physically. So, depending on how the body and mind feels, basing our asana practice on the specific Chakra helps balance the energy out. Gona give my new sequence a try!